About Carve

Carve was founded in 2000 to publish short stories online and has hosted the annual Raymond Carver Short Story Contest since 2001. Print and digital quarterly issues began in 2012 and feature our signature HONEST FICTION, poetry, nonfiction, interviews, illustrations, and more. The editors, staff, and volunteers who help the magazine thrive are based all over the world.

Carve is a member of CLMP and attends the annual AWP conference.


Carve, named in honor of Raymond Carver, publishes fiction, poetry, and nonfiction that respects the power of language and craft and elicits genuine emotional truths. We also strive to foster a sense of camaraderie among all writers and readers.

We converse with the writers we publish, sharing discussions on the modern writer’s life with readers across digital and print mediums. We deliver thoughtful feedback on select submissions that we decline, and we highlight individuals and organizations who practice outstanding literary citizenship. We also engage younger readers through classroom-ready lesson plans centered on our short stories.

We value the power of good writing—to challenge, heal, educate, disturb, and transform. With our borderless, inclusive, and diverse community, we look forward to sharing in the empathic spaces that literature creates.

Raymond Carver in 1984. Photograph: Bob Adelman/Corbis


Editorial Staff

Contributing Staff

Resident Reading Committee

Fiction Reading Committee
Joe O'Neill, Kristene Brown, Lauren Kelly, Heather Hobma, Kristina Fedeczko, Eli Didier, Ayla Gilbert, Kelsey Ipsen, Katie Knecht, David Sanchez, Erika Parker, Rebecca Thaxton, Erica Hussey, Enlli Lewis, Jessica Lampard, Anna Gardner, Christopher Evans, Carissa Chesanek, Jennifer Fiorile, Roxanne Guinney, Tyler Murphy, Nelson C.J, Owen Woods, Alicia Kort, Anne Redd, Eleni Theodoropoulos, Megan Gibbons, Kate Shapiro, Chris Skogley, Delaney Saul, Mariya Poe, Laura Gaddis, David Cofer, Caitlin Scarano, Marianna Boncek, Amy Bobeda

Poetry Reading Committee
Beau McGlasson, Christopher Menezes, Marcus Dietrich, Savannah Admire, Stacy Pendergrast, Jacob Billingsley, Olga Rukovets, Ree Sherwood, Alyssa Arns, Khalisa Rae Thompson

Nonfiction Reading Committee
Hillary Fifield, Marissa Woble, Joelle Renstrom, Lesley Heiser



+1st place in the 2014 and 2015 Million Writers Award
+1st place, 3rd place in the 2013 Million Writers Award
+Special Mention in 2008 & 2010 Pushcart Prize
+Named #11 in EveryWritersResource top 20 online literary mags
+19 Notable Stories in StorySouth's Million Writers Award since 2007
+Favorably reviewed by


Without you, we're nothing.

We love to receive feedback and hear what we can do to make our magazine better. We’re also happy to grant select interview requests and answer any general inquiries.

Please note that we do not review books by request.

You can contact us by mail too. Send us a letter to:

Carve Magazine
PO Box 701510
Dallas, TX 75370


Hey surfing fans, we're not the mag you're looking for.
Try instead.

Name *