The Raymond Carver Short Story Contest

Now in its 19th year, the Raymond Carver Short Story Contest is one of the most renowned fiction contests in the world. Featuring prominent guest judges and offering $2500 across five prizes, the contest delivers exciting new fiction from writers all over the world.

The contest opens each year April 1 - May 15 and prizewinners are published in our annual fall issue in October.


Prizewinners selected by guest judge Claire Fuller - to be published in Fall 2019 issue:

First - $1500: "Private Lives" by April Sopkin in Richmond, VA
Second - $500: "Gravity House" by Carolyn Bishop in Weaverville, CA
Third - $250: "The Enchanted Forest" by Brian Crawford in Redwood City, CA
Editor’s Choice - $125: "The Ghost Rider” by Erica Plouffe Lazure in Exeter, NH


“The Rope of Him” by Laura Farnsworth
“The Weight of Nothing” by Toby Wallis
“Whomp” by Lynda Montgomery
“Day Trip” by Benjamin Kessler
“Don’t Let the Baby Touch the Ground” by Jennifer Solheim
“Beyond Reproach” by Kristin Burcham
“Dynamo Sideways” by Terrance Manning, Jr.
“Jimmy Scozzafava” by Charles Schneider


2019 GUEST JUDGE: Claire Fuller

Claire Fuller didn’t start writing until she was 40. Her three novels, Our Endless Numbered Days, Swimming Lessons, and Bitter Orange are all published by Tin House and have been translated into sixteen languages. Her first novel won the 2015 Desmond Elliott Prize for debut fiction and was a finalist in the ABA (American Booksellers Association) 2016 Indies Best Books Award. Her second novel was shortlisted for the Encore Prize. Claire also writes flash fiction and short stories, and as well as being published in many journals, her stories have won the BBC Opening Lines competition, and the Royal Academy / Pin Drop prize. Claire lives in Hampshire in England.

ClaireFuller 68 BW small.jpg